Meet The Management Staff Karyn Bird

Staff Karyn Bird Meet our latest addition to Operations:  Karyn Bird

Operations Support manager

 

 

 

 

Q. Please provide your WWW title and a description of what your job entails.

I am an Operations Administrator and I assist in making sure our clients are kept happy by ensuring they receive quality work on time.

Q. What have you enjoyed the most? The least?

From the short time I have been part of the WWW family, I have enjoyed getting to know the various clients we work with and their individual needs, as well as the vast array of subjects the different transcripts cover. I am also slowly getting to know all the transcribers and they have been very welcoming. What don’t I enjoy the least? Well, hard to say after such a short time, but I do think the coveted window position should be on a rotational basis.

Q. Why did you seek a position here?

I loved the prospect of working with people from all over the world and of course my adoration for the English language meant it was like a moth to the flame.

Q. Tell a funny story about something that has happened so far.

During my testing process, I had to do an hour long transcription on adolescent testicular problems. Who knew what the not-so fair sex faces?!

Q. What are your hobbies? Your passions?

I love painting, crafts, cooking, long walks on the beach, pina coladas….oh wait, not that sort of newsletter? Ha ha! I do really enjoy painting and cooking. Music is my soul food – I have very eclectic taste. I love gardening but plants don’t seem to like me very much… I recently acquired a fish tank and I’ve become very intrigued by the world of aquariums. I’m very passionate about animals (I have four dogs and two cats). I hate injustice or unfairness, especially when those in power use it to exploit the weak.

Q. Share a bit of personal (but not too personal) information.

I was born in the old Transvaal in South Africa. I haven’t travelled as much as I’d like to but I hope to remedy that sooner rather than later. When I was little I wanted to be a veterinarian, but having run my own animal shelter for about 5 years, I realised that I am too emotionally involved to make decisions about life and death based on the owner’s income or attitude. I’ve always wanted to play in a band, and whilst my blistered fingers are desperate to give up, I am trying hard to learn to play the guitar. Any tips are welcome (excuse the pun)!

Q. Tell us something unique about yourself.

I have a double jointed thumb. And a group of freckles on my check that form a perfect circle. And exceptionally big feet for a girl.

Q. Ask someone else in OPS to describe you…what are they saying?

They shook their heads in horror. Just kidding! They are thankful I am a girl as we need all the oestrogen we can get. And of course, multi-tasking is a pre-requisite for OPS which comes naturally to women. In addition to that, I love baking cupcakes so I shall be using those as a bribing mechanism.

 

>>>END<<<

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.